How to turn off laptop webcam in Ubuntu

I have a Lenovo 3000 V100 laptop.

With Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx, I was able to turn off the integrated webcam (the led annoys me) by putting these lines in /etc/rc.local

echo 0 > /sys/bus/usb/devices/1-5/bConfigurationValue
echo "suspend" > /sys/bus/usb/devices/1-5/power/level

I don’t quite understand what they do, but they worked. For some reason I also don’t quite understand, after updating to Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal, they stopped working. However, adding this line to /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

blacklist gspca_m5602

seems to work (after a reboot). Apparently it prevents the loading of the kernel module containing the driver for the webcam. I used the lsmod command to find out that gspca_m5602 looks like the module related to the webcam.

Are there any other (less brute) ways to turn off the webcam?

Leave a comment